Skip to content

Making copies of original window latches

October 22, 2010

A couple of years ago I undertook a major repair on the bay window at the back of my house. The repair itself may form part of a posting at a later date, but I just wanted to tell you about the company who made the window furniture (latches and casement stays).

The bay window that has Jim Lawrence window furniture

Jim Lawrence (www.jim-lawrence.co.uk) is a company based in Hadleigh, Suffolk that make and sell the finishing touches to your home. Things like light fittings, door knobs, curtain poles and stair rods, their web site is well worth a visit.

However, my needs were for bespoke window furniture to match the only original window latch and casement stay remaining in my house.

I have to say I was most impressed with the individual care and attention Jim Lawrence gave to my order. My requirements were fairly precise and they certainly gave me a pretty good copy of the original.

The original latch

The Jim Lawrence copy

If you need to obtain copies of an original window latch or casement stay please give Jim Lawrence a call. They will either take a standard item and modify it or make it from scratch.

The standard item that was modified is called Barber and it has been finished in beeswax.

From → 4. Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

