Skip to content

Where to buy authentic glass roundels?

June 29, 2012

A panel containing the glass roundels I’m trying to copy

In an earlier post describing the ongoing restoration of my front door, I finished the job by inserting cheap obscure glass in the glazing panels either side of the door. This was a temporary measure while I tried to source authentic glass for the actual panels.

As of July 2012, I am now getting ready to have the 10 panes of leaded glass made up to replace the cheap temporary glass.

This post is a short announcement to say that I have found a good supplier of the roundels used in the centre of the leaded panels. These roundels are the centre piece for each panel and must be as close to the originals as possible. To this end, English Antique Glass Ltd has come to my rescue.

The thicker roundel on the left is from EAG and is hand spun, while the flatter roundel on the right is a mass produced version and lacks impact.

EAG were able to provide me with a free sample roundel of hand spun glass approximately 2 inches in diameter and with a large knob of glass in the centre. This glass knob is vital to create the right amount of light distortion which is a particular feature in the originals.

English Antique Glass Ltd is based in Alvechurch, Birmingham and can be contacted via their email www.englishantiqueglass.co.uk

Once I get some of the leaded glass panels made up and fitted I’ll upload a new post.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

