Skip to content

FRONT DOOR FRAME – Before and after restoration

August 13, 2012

Finished door frame and stained glass

After some years of persistence I have finally got the front door side panels and transom window finished.

I have posted several short articles on each stage of this transformation but thought you might like to see the before and after photos.

I still can’t understand why anyone would deliberately remove the original details and effectively replace them with bland featureless glass and trim. Anyway, I have now got it back to somewhere near its original design.

Door frame when the house was bought

The front door is the next big project and I have someone in mind for this job. The company lined up is K&D Joinery Ltd of Dagenham. They have already made an identical door for a similar house nearby, so I’m hoping this can be commissioned in the near future.

If you’re wondering how I got the nice warm glow of light through the glazing. I placed an Anglepoise lamp in the hall with a 12W compact flourescent lamp aimed at the door.

2 Comments
  1. margaret makanda permalink

    Lovely restoration.  I have new email address which kindly note – margaretmak12@yahoo.co.uk. Also, you mentioned to me when I met you in May a type of paint you regard as superior in several ways to usual kinds/brands – canno remember the name ? kind regards Margaret

    ________________________________

    • Margaret, The paint was Holkham linseed oil paint. The front door is a mix of parchment and white. 2 parts white to one part of parchment.

Leave a Reply

